Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

4 posters

Application for Enlistment lapel pin

L.E.
    L.E.

Application for Enlistment lapel pin Empty Application for Enlistment lapel pin

Post by L.E. Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:27 pm

Hi everyone,

I am new to this, so please excuse my lack of knowledge of some discussion going on.
    Asking for some of your expertise. My uncle served in WW2 on warships and I have successfully discovered information on the silver General Service pin and another that I have.
    There is another pin though, and it is an Application for Enlistment lapel pin that I am not sure about. What I found on the internet is that this pin was worn by individuals who enlisted and for medical reason, could not be excepted for battle. Since my Uncle served in battle, I wondered if it could have been my Mother's pin. She worked at Sutton-Horsley Ltd. Toronto and the company made airplane and ship parts, as well as Physicist Walter kohn was doing work in mechanism development etc for the company during WW2 1941 - 1943 (I found that interesting).
    Can anyone tell me any history about Sutton-Horsley Ltd during WW2?
    Anything about the Application for Enlistment pin?

Thanks

Last edited by L.E. on Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:02 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : spellcheck:))
    HLIofC
    HLIofC

Application for Enlistment lapel pin Empty Re: Application for Enlistment lapel pin

Post by HLIofC Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:59 pm

I believe that you are correct regarding the pin....applicants rejected for medical reasons. I'm fairly new at this too...Wink 
    L.E.
    L.E.

Application for Enlistment lapel pin Empty Re: Application for Enlistment lapel pin

Post by L.E. Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:45 pm

Hello HLlofc,