Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

+3
jholl72
BAP
CanadianBD
7 posters

Authentic Canadian Battledress?

CanadianBD

Authentic Canadian Battledress? Empty Authentic Canadian Battledress?

Post by CanadianBD Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi how is everyone doing?

im pretty new to researching the different types of battledress variants and such, i was wondering how you guys can tell if a battledress is authentic or post war because i have close to no clue. i found one battledress on ebay which is a p37, but is missing the inside pockets? is this normal?

Authentic Canadian Battledress? S-l1600
    BAP
    BAP

Authentic Canadian Battledress? Empty Re: Authentic Canadian Battledress?

Post by BAP Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:22 pm

It's a WW2 type but isn't WW2 Canadian made. The cotton lining colour is wrong and WW2 Canadian battledress have two interior breast pockets, one of which has the maker, date and size stamped on it.
    CanadianBD

Post by CanadianBD Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:29 pm

ok thanks for the info!
    CanadianBD

Post by CanadianBD Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:11 pm

would you happen to have a rough idea on to where this battledress came from?
    BAP
    BAP

Post by BAP Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:10 pm

Are there any markings stamped on it at all? The cut is identical to a later war Canadian blouse but if it were one it would be well marked in that condition. I suspect a well made repro or even something tailored up from some other county's uniform. There are private purchase ones but those would be of finer material and again well marked.
    CanadianBD

Post by CanadianBD Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:15 pm

i do not believe there are any markings, i can only assume your correct about the repro tunic idea. Unfortunately i don't have anything to go by but these pictures myself.
    jholl72