Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

John Donald Sutherland

mk1rceme
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

John Donald Sutherland Empty John Donald Sutherland

Post by mk1rceme Sat Dec 05, 2009 1:06 am

John Donald Sutherland John%20Donald%20Sutherland%20A John Donald Sutherland John%20Donald%20Sutherland%20B

My name is John Donald Sutherland but I go by Donald or Don. I was born 21 August 1922 in Spiddle Hill, Nova Scotia. My father, John Dunrobin Sutherland was a farmer and my mother Bertha nee Smith was a housewife. Our family consisted of eight children, three boys and five girls. I was orphaned at a young age and left school in the eighth grade. Prior to joining the military I worked as a farm hand and I also worked in forestry and construction at the building of Camp Debert.

On 23 June 1941 I hitched a ride on a cream truck to the Truro Armouries where I joined the military at #6 District Depot. I was sent to Aldershot, Nova Scotia for a brief period then to Camp Debert to join reinforcements (3rd Division) which was preparing to depart for overseas. I was the youngest member of the Royal Canadian Army Service Corp (RCASC) and my trade was Driver Mechanic.